Ma Qing Hua and Jason Zhang encore in Shanghai’s Race 2

Ma Qing Hua and Jason Zhang encore in Shanghai’s Race 2

Ma Qing Hua and Jason Zhang encored yesterday’s 1-2 finish for Shell Teamwork Lynk & Racing on Sunday’s TCR China/TCR Asia North Race 2 at Shanghai Jiading, with the two drivers carving their way up the order from eighth and ninth on the grid.
The field was reduced to 16 cars, after the inevitable withdrawal of the #88 MG 6 of Martin Cao, whose car was seriously damaged in yesterday’s crash.
Yang Xi started from pole position in the Huffsport TM Audi RS 3 LMS, and lead into the first turn ahead of Rodolfo Ávila’s MG, while Sunny Wong made quick progress at the start and was up to third from seventh on the grid in his Lynk & Co 03.
Wong was passed by Zhang Zhen Dong’s MG however further on the lap, and Wong also lost ground to teammate Jason Zhang and the Audi of Wan Cheng Zheng.
The Audi of Yang was getting away up front as the battle erupted for the podium spots. On lap three, Zhang Zhen Dong passed his teammate Ávila for second place at the hairpin at Turn 14, while Jason Zhang was able to get past Ávila at Turn 2 on the following lap and continued to chase down Zhang Zhen Dong.
Then followed a sensational five-lap battle between the two Zhangs, with the MG and Lynk & Co drivers going side-by-side on several occasions, but Jason Zhang was unable to find a way through.
Ma Qing Hua caught the pair up and added even more pressure, with Zhang Zhen Dong making a mistake on lap eight, with both Jason Zhang and Ma passing him in short order.
The two Lynk & Co cars then caught and passed the leading Huffsport Audi of Yang Xi over the final two laps of the race, and Jason Zhang went into the final corner as the race leader, but then ran wide, allowing Ma through to take his second win in a row.
Ma Qing Hua continues to lead the drivers’ standings on 55 points, ahead of Jason Zhang on 40 points, and Yang Xi who is third on 23.
The next joint event of TCR China and TCR Asia North Cup will be at Zhouzhou International Circuit on 11/13 June.

Shanghai – Race 2
1. Ma Qing Hua (Shell Teamwork, Lynk & Co 03), 11 laps
2. Jason Zhang Zhi Qiang (Shell Teamwork, Lynk & Co 03), 0.369
3. Yang Xi (Huffsport TM, Audi RS 3 LMS), 2.213
4. Zhang Zhen Dong (MG XPower Team, MG 6), 3.513
5. Rodolfo Ávila (MG XPower Team, MG 6), 9.868

Championship standings
1. Ma Qing Hua 55 pts; 2. Jason Zhang 40; 3. Yang Xi 23

Picture: TCR China

WSC Asia Ltd
44 Jalan Kemajuan
Section 12/18
Petaling Jaya 46200



Log in or create an account